What is Vestry?

The vestry is the governing board of the parish and consists of the Rector, the Wardens and lay members.  The Vestry of the Episcopal Parish of Alton is comprised of twelve members.  Each year at our Annual Meeting the congregation elects new members for three-year terms.  A Rector’s Warden is appointed annually by the Rector and a Parish Warden is elected annually by the Vestry.  A Clerk of the Vestry and a Parish Treasurer are also chosen annually by the Vestry, in consultation with the Rector.

The Rector presides at meetings of the Vestry which is responsible for the parish’s business and temporal matters.  The Vestry also serves as advisory council to the Rector who by church law is the parish’s chief liturgical and pastoral officer.  The primary responsibility of the Vestry is to oversee the parish’s financial health.  In partnership with the Rector, it develops and approves the annual budget. 

Vestry members serve on one of the following nine commissions:  Property and Maintenance, Finance and Insurance, Parish Life, Education, Evangelism and Outreach, Public Relations and Communication, and Liturgy and Music.

The Vestry of the Episcopal Parish of Alton meets monthly in Trinity Chapel’s fellowship hall.

If you need to contact any member of the Vestry, please contact the parish office at

Or phone 618-465-9149.

Our Vestry

Donna Fisher
Evangelism & Outreach Committee 

Charles Buxton, Rector’s Warden
Chair of Evangelism & Outreach, Parish Life Committee

Jean Downey
Evangelism & Outreach

Diana Enloe
Property & Maintenance

A.J. Goers
Chair of Finance Committee

Lynn Hoffman
Chair of Education Committee

Will Lane
Chair Property & Maintenance / Finance

Mary Molloy, People's Warden
Parish Life Committee

Dan Plate
Parish Life and Public Relations

Carl Slaughter
Liturgy & Music

Denise St. Peters
Finance Committee

Barb Ulffers
Education Committee

Rev. Cynthia Sever
Liturgy & Music

Other Parish Officers

Donna Fisher

Sue Goers
Clerk of the Vestry